Edge of Doris perhaps

I decided to take myself and camera to Blagdon Lake, in the Mendips, UK. So, as you do, I checked the weather forecast on my phone’s weather app – it suggested ‘clouds, more clouds, some rain and cloudy with a tiny amount of sun, possibly. In addition a news app mentioned ‘Storm Doris‘. Though the worst of that was likely to be Friday, two days away.

My plan then was to walk around the lake taking pictures of the view as I went. Unfortunately, the lake is at least three times further around than I had anticipated and I got a little bit lost, as there are reserved parts one can’t enter, in a wooded area . As I emerged out of the trees and rejoined the track there was a wood cabin and a portable convenience! Neither of which I required at the time though good to know they were there.a view showing a woodcabin and a plastic poratable looCarrying on the weather seemed reasonably good – as you can probably tell from the sky in the above photo – mild, not too windy and not raining. However, as I got a quarter of a mile or so further round the lake things changed.a weather front came rolling in bringing a strong wind and rainA front came rolling in bringing a strong wind and rain. Maybe this was the first touch of Storm Doris?

I wasn’t even half way round the lake. So, remembering the cabin I back tracked and sheltered inside for a while. Perfect.dark forboding shot of the sky, view and lakeWhen the rain had passed I put my hood up against the wind and made my way back to the main road. I really enjoyed the walk in the end and got some memorable shots too.

Then, as I changed out of my walking boots at the rear of my vehicle these guys happened along. Terrific!A couple on a horse and trapI am definitely going to return to this location again. So lucky to have this wonderful spot just thirty minutes or so drive away.

Leave a Reply

